WHAT YOU WILL FIND ON JOHN CHUCKMAN’S CHICAGO NOSTALGIA AND MEMORABILIA: URBAN ARTIFACTS, HISTORY OF CHICAGO, CHICAGO ARCHITECTURE, PARKS OF CHICAGO, CHICAGO NEIGHBORHOODS, CHICAGO NOTABLE BUSINESSES OF THE PAST, CHICAGO STREETSCAPES, CHICAGO ODDITIES, CHICAGO MAPS, VINTAGE CHICAGO ADVERTISING, CHICAGO THEATERS, CHICAGO WEATHER IMAGES, LAKE MICHIGAN, CHICAGO RIVER AND BRIDGES, CHANGING CHICAGO SKYLINE, AND MORE – SEEN THROUGH MANY THOUSANDS OF POSTCARDS, PHOTOS, ENGRAVINGS, MENUS, MATCHBOOKS, AND ASSORTED SOUVENIRS   7 comments

PHOTO - CHICAGO - KIMBALL AVE BUS - STOPPED FOR PASSENGERS - APARTMENT BUILDINGS - NOTE OLD STOP LIGHT  - c1950

 

 

 

Posted April 11, 2016 by JOHN CHUCKMAN in Uncategorized

7 responses to “WHAT YOU WILL FIND ON JOHN CHUCKMAN’S CHICAGO NOSTALGIA AND MEMORABILIA: URBAN ARTIFACTS, HISTORY OF CHICAGO, CHICAGO ARCHITECTURE, PARKS OF CHICAGO, CHICAGO NEIGHBORHOODS, CHICAGO NOTABLE BUSINESSES OF THE PAST, CHICAGO STREETSCAPES, CHICAGO ODDITIES, CHICAGO MAPS, VINTAGE CHICAGO ADVERTISING, CHICAGO THEATERS, CHICAGO WEATHER IMAGES, LAKE MICHIGAN, CHICAGO RIVER AND BRIDGES, CHANGING CHICAGO SKYLINE, AND MORE – SEEN THROUGH MANY THOUSANDS OF POSTCARDS, PHOTOS, ENGRAVINGS, MENUS, MATCHBOOKS, AND ASSORTED SOUVENIRS

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, I’ve enjoyed your blog for quite some time. In the last month or so, I’ve noticed that I can no longer click pictures to embiggen them. Is that just me, or did something change? At any rate, thanks for all the work you do making an interesting site.

    • Yes, it is a disappointing situation.

      It is the direct result of a new editor WordPress has imposed on all of users.

      The editor has a couple of other shortcomings, too, but the lost ability to click on an image is quite serious.

      Hopefully, they are working to fix it.

      I just can’t understand putting something like this out there in so faulty a state.

      A rather unpleasant reminder of the way Microsoft does business.

    • I just found your site and think that it is just great to see such old photos of Chicago in one place.
      To answer John Chuckman, if you have Microsoft One Note, you could get around the problem that way. One Note allows you to copy anything that is on the screen. Then move it to a file by right clicking on the picture copied and then save as to a file. It then comes up in PNG format. You can then convert that to Jpeg and do what you like with the photo.
      It sounds cumbersome, but once you get the hang of it, it gets real easy, even when you are doing multiple pictures.

  2. Chuck

    Fantastic undertaking, sorry to see you are having problems as discussed above and as I just found out as I returned to your site after a long interval.

    My father owned a business manufacturing popcorn machines at 120 so, Halsted Street just south of Adams, from the early thirties to about 1991, name was Krispy Kist Korn Machine Co., renamed Krispy Kist in the sixties. I only have one photo of the exterior.

    He also, for a short time, had a candy store next to the Granada Theater, but I’ve been unable to find any pics of it.

    I hoping you might have something.

    Thanks and continued success.

    Dr. Richard Jacobson
  3. Unfortunately, the hint about opening linked images isn’t working for me. I’m using Safari on the Mac. I also tried it in Firefox. But the menu that appears when right-clicking the images does not allow opening the link. There appears to be no link, in fact. The menu allows opening the image in a new tab (or window) but that only opens another copy of the small image already displayed.

    Cliff Tarrance
  4. I have always looked forward to seeing your new Chicago memorabilia postings nearly every month since I discovered your site several years ago. However, nothing was posted after September, 2016. I was happy to see that there was a January, 2017 posting but it only consisted of a single photo. Is everything OK? BTW, I found that nearly 70 year old January photo interesting in that most of the identifiable products are still made.

    Thanks, Chuck, for the kind words. I have been underway with a large new project for a while, so some of my established sites have been allowed to rest.

    I will indeed be back to Chicago in a while. It was always intended as an ongoing project, just so long as I go on. Just be patient.

    John Chuckman

  5. I love your site, and have enjoyed it for several years. It brings back sense memories of growing up in the 50’s along with hints at what it was like for my parents and grandparents. I feel that your image collection transports me back in time in an almost literal fashion. Thank you!

    And thank you, Shar.

    Your kind words virtually sum up my whole intention and purpose in creating the site.

    John Chuckman

    Shar Senor Carlyle

LEAVE A COMMENT